Book Recommendations: 2 Epic Female-Centered Book Series

I’ve been kicking some reading butt lately and recently read not one, but two awesome female-centered series with strong women role models.

Fun Fact: I totally had to google how to do the plural of series, which according to Merriam-Webster is a zero plural. So, the plural of series is… series.

Anywhoo, I know a bunch of you are also big readers, so I wanted to pass on my recommendations. As always, be sure to check your library (or online library though Overdrive) first to save yourself some money!

A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas


Book 1: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Book 2: A Court of Mist and Fury

Book 3: A Court of Wings and Ruin

I borrowed the first book through my online library for free and HOLY MOLY it was so good that I couldn’t wait for the next two books to become available and had to buy them for my kindle. And now that I’ve read them all, I think I need to buy them in physical form so that I have them handy for re-reading. This series just sucks you in and doesn’t let you go until the last book. Which, I guess, isn’t the last book because a fourth book centering on the main character’s sister will be coming out this winter.

The Court of Thorns and Roses series centers on nineteen-year-old huntress, Feyre. After killing a wolf in the woods who ends up to be Fae, she is dragged off to a magical land and held captive. This was touted as a new twist on ‘Beauty and the Beast’ which is what originally attracted me to it, but it is about so much more. Feyre is a amazing strong character who is human and makes mistakes and grows and learns over the course of the series. This series blends adventure, romance and fairy tales into an action-packed series that I could not put down. Highly, highly recommend!

Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard


Book 1: Red Queen

Book 2: Glass Sword

Book 3: King’s Cage

Book 4: War Storm

In Red Queen, there are two classes of people: those with Red Blood and those with Silver Blood. Silvers have superhuman abilities and are the royalty of the world. While Reds are born simply to serve. Seventeen-year-old Mare Barrow was born Red, but a twist of fate throws her into the Silver’s world. I want to stress how great this book is, but I also don’t want to give away anything important! This book series follows Mare though many, may changes in her life. She basically grows up from a teenager to a woman over the four books and learns to fight back against the world that she was born into. Another series where I was glued to the pages reading as quickly as I can.

If you want to follow along with all the books I’ve read so far in 2020, you can find them here: 2020 Book List. I also post mini reviews on my Instagram stories after I finish reading each book and keep them ‘pinned’ to my Instagram home page: The first 50 book mini reviews are saved as ‘Books 1’ and the rest are currently saved as ‘Books 2’.

Disclaimer: This post contains Amazon affiliate links. This means that clicking on a link may help me earn a small commission at no cost to you.

Like what you see? Share me with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *